THE Worcestershire held their golf club championship with a 36-hole medal competition.

Players with a handicap of 12 or less battled over two days.

Tom Howells led both the gross and nett competitions overnight with 71 and 70.

He followed it with a 74 and 73 to win the gross prize of the AM Chance Cup and finish nett runner-up on countback.

Anthony Ottway, who only joined the Malvern Wells club last month, finished second with a 36-hole score of 152.

John Wootten was third with 155 gross and got the best nett of 143 to take the Schweppes Cup on countback.

Simon Phillips was one back for third gross after a second-round improvement of six shots.

Roger Brierly celebrated a hole-in-one on the par-three third.

The Deerhurst Cup medal round for handicaps 13 to 28 ran alongside the championship's first round.

Greg Michael, a member for little over a year and playing off 26, won with a score of 70 ahead of Tim Sinden, Tom Wood and Brian Pleass who all got 71.

In a ladies' stableford Diane Meakin topped the scores with 35 points but was not eligible for either of the cups on offer.

The Veterans Trophy went to Hazel Cartledge with 34, two clear of three players in Sue Boardman, Brenda Cox and Fiona Lucas.

The Novices Trophy was won by newcomer Penny Pullen whose scoring has been steady since arriving at the club.

In a midweek medal Frank Turner returned 74 nett to win from the white tees and Ian Jukes 80 to triumph from the yellow.

Peter Taylor claimed the nine-hole stableford with 19 points.

There were wins for Jill and Brian Piner 5&4, Denise and Richard Codrington 4&2 and Sue and Tom Wood 3&1 in a 5-3 loss at Minchinhampton.

Meanwhile, Bransford seniors fell 5-1 at Evesham with Gordon White (27) and John Phillips (23) triumphing 2&1.

Andy Falconer (26 and Phil Spencer (18) lost 5&4, Alan Wallcroft (27) and Barry Benge (21) 2&1, Roger Clark (26) and Ferey Ghani (18) 6&5, Peter Harrison (25) and Rob Blake (16) 5&4 and Dave Lindsay (23) and Trevor Atkinson (16) one-down.

In-form Harry Godwin and Eve Lynes were in a team of four who topped Bransford's am-am by five points.

Godwin was joined by wife Trish as they won with 87, five ahead of Maria and Rob Jordan and Louise and Dave Baker from Fulford Heath.

Burghill Valley's Sue and Paul Cosnett and Helen and Rob Broadbridge claimed third with 81.

Bransford’s Peter Sheppard, Jenny Bennett and Andy and Lesley Lammas were fourth on 79.

The best visitors' prize went to Susan Diamond-Brown, John Cox and Jeannie and Richard Williams from Puckrup Hall on countback with 78.

Nearest-the-pin awards went to Bet Gazzard (Cotswold Edge) on the 15th and Paul Cosnett (Burghill) on the 13th.

The September Texas scramble was won by Stuart Crump, Ian Bowman and Dave Lewis with 59.4.

Alistair Robb, Joe Pritchard and Max Richardson were second on 61.4 with Jack Cutler, Carl Wiltshire and Robert Young junior third on 62.4.