MALVERN Anglers gathered at Newtown Club for their AGM and trophy presentation.

After a welcome by club chairman Ian Goddard and positive reports from secretary Mick Perks and treasurer John Shaw, the match secretary reflected on a successful year of competitions.

The previous year had seen an increased number of participants in club matches held on a variety of different river and pool venues with many close finishes.

The 11 club trophies had been won by 10 people.

Members expressed their appreciation to Sue Troughton, the riparian owner of the stretch of the River Severn at Holdfast used by the club who was invited to present the trophies.


Club Champion Cup: Lee Harman; Spring League Shield: Chris Loveridge; Fitzwater Trophy: Richard Webster; Newtown Shield: Dennis Flanagan; John Perks Shield: Pete Roberts; Derek Evans Trophy: Steve Cox; Dick Oakley Shield: Dave Harris; Roy Bouston Shield: Paul Lane; Ron Thomas Cup: Chris Loveridge & Nigel Bayliss; Winter League Shield: Lee Harman; Sue Troughton River Cup: Dick Oakley.