LEON Tomkins pipped Darren Jones on countback to win Bransford's Anniversary Cup.

Tomkins (13 handicap) and Jones (16) both had 38 points while Pete Sheppard (15), Andy Goodall (25) and Marshall Smart (21) scored 36 and Abi Nixon (28) and Ian Pritchard (12) 35.

A seniors' Florida scramble produced a tight finish with three trios on 70.9.

Richard Steele, Dick Bettsworth and Ted Ditchfield won on countback from Leigh Thomas, Adrian Hagger and Mike Holmes and Martin Linley and Fred Yarnold.

Wild, Gerry McCurry and Charlie Hawkridge got 71.5, Keith Leadbetter, Cynthia Holmes and Brian Lane 72 and Tony Bowman, Ron Perkins and Charlie Payne, Geoff Aston, Bill Bowen and Robin Brighton and Barry Benge, Dave Ryall and Steade 72.9.

The Mayor’s Chalice competition attracted 65 entries and the stableford went to Chris Cale (19) on 38 points.

Countback was necessary to decide the runner-up as Allen Rowberry (30) edged out Paul Edlin (24) on 36.

Thomas (18) and Ryall (21) scored 35 and Yarnold (31), Roger Clark (25), Colin Weeden (33) and Eve Lynes (23) 34.

Bransford seniors have made an encouraging start to their summer season of matches.

Having won 5-1 at Burghill Valley they enjoyed a 6-0 whitewash at Brickhampton Court.

But they lost their third match on the road 4-3 at Churchill and Blakedown.

Scores v Brickhampton: Andy Falconer (26) and Mike Davidge (16) won 2&1, Gordon White (27) and Phil Spencer (19) won 4&3, John Phillips (22) and Trevor Atkinson (15) won 4&2, Clark (25) and Rob Blake (15) won 3&1, Alan Wallcroft (25) and Ferey Ghani (17) won 3&2, Peter Harrison (25) and Mike Weaver (18) won 2&1; v Churchill: Falconer and David Wild (14) lost 2&1, White and Weaver lost, Wallcroft and Blake won 1 up, Davidge and Dave Lindsay (23) lost 4&3, Chris Cale (19) and Atkinson lost 3&2, Harrison and Dyment (18) won 3&2, Roger Steade (28) and Ghani won 3&2.