Colwall Cricket Club were crowned Cricketer Village Cup champions after their thrilling 6-run victory over Redborn CC at Lords last weekend.

It was the first time the club had won the prestigious tournament and jubilant scenes were seen both on the field and for the watching supporters at Stowe Lane back home in Colwall.

Colwall were put into bat first and registered the seventh highest score in Village Cup final history with 229 thanks in the main to half centuries by Richard Howitt (58) and man of the match Ben Wheeler (72).

Colwall had looked in a bit of trouble to start with as they struggled to 24-2 after seven overs but Howitt and Fergus Cameron (23) steadied the ship and were 92-2 at the half-way point.

Cameron was removed in the next over and James Abel joined Howitt and managed 21 before also being given out.

Wheeler headed to the crease for the final ten overs and showed his class with a magnificent 72 off just 33 balls and lead Colwall to a demanding score.

In reply, Redbourn got off to a ferocious start, making 50 off the opening six overs with captain and opener Edward Hales posting 119 off just 83 balls and looking like he might inspire an impressive run-chase.

When Hales fell on 160-3, the runs began to dry out and Ben Febery (2-40) and Michael Gooch (0-35) limited Redborn to just 15 runs off six overs in the middle of the innings.

Daniel Roe provided some resistance to the Colwall attack with 32 off 64 and Hugh Craig also managed 19 from off 41 but they were always chasing and were beginning to run out of steam.

Steven Richard hit 22 off 21 balls late on to try and produce a late surge but Luke Dalley (2-33) ended his stay at the crease.

In the end, Redbourn were unable to get the 11 runs required off the final over as Andrew Robertson held his nerve. With four runs coming from the over, Colwall secured a six-run victory.